Skip navigation links
Home
About Brian York
Court Calendar
Northern Division-Circuit
Northern Division-District
Southern Division-District
Civil Division
Circuit Civil
District Civil
Small Claims
Unlawful Detainers
Criminal Division
Circuit Criminal
District Criminal
Magistrates Warrants
Traffic Court
Directory
Family Court
Child Support
Divorce
Domestic Relations
Protection from Abuse
Absentee Information
Absentee FAQ
Absentee Voting
Jury Information
Passports
Legal Services
Links
Absentee FAQ 
 

When does absentee voting start?

 The Probate Judge is required by law to provide ballots and supplies to the Absentee Election Manager fifty-five (55) days before an election. Absentee balloting begins forty (40) days prior to the election.

Back to Top

 

What are the qualifications for obtaining an absentee ballot?

QUALIFICATIONS FOR A TRADITIONAL ABSENTEE BALLOT §17-10-3, Code of Alabama

  • The voter will be out of the county or state on Election Day.
  • The voter is physically incapacitated and will not be able to vote in person on Election Day.
  • The voter works a shift which has at least (10) hours that coincide with the polling hours at their regular polling place.
  • The voter is a student at an educational institution located outside the county of their permanent residence, and is therefore unable to vote at their usual polling place on Election Day.
  • The voter is a member of, or the spouse of a member of, the armed forces of the United States or is otherwise entitled to vote by absentee pursuant the Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act, 42, U.S.C. 1973ff.
  • The voter has been appointed as an election officer at a polling place which is not his/her regular polling place.

Back to Top

Am I eligible to vote absentee?

   If you are registered to vote in Talladega County and meet one of the above requirements, then you are eligible. If you are not registered to vote in Talladega County, you will need to contact the Board of Registrars at (256) 761-2132 to register. By law, the cut-off date to register to be eligible to vote in an upcoming election is 10 days before the election. You can download a voter registration form here. It should be mailed to the Board of Registrars at P. O. Box 6170, Talladega, AL 35161.

Back to Top

How do I apply for an absentee ballot?

   You can call Brian York, Absentee Election Manager, at (256) 761-2102 ext. 1208 or come by and pick up an application at the office of the Circuit Clerk/Absentee Election Manager P.O. Box 6137, Talladega, AL 35161. You can also download the form at AlabamaVotes.gov.  PLEASE READ INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY BEFORE YOU FILL OUT YOUR APPLICATION.

Back to Top

Where do I mail the application?

   The application must be mailed to: Brian York, Absentee Election Manager, P.O. Box 6137, Talladega, AL 35161. By law ( AG Opinion 82-551), each application must be mailed in a separate envelope. Multiple applications (even for husband and wife) which are mailed in the same envelope will be returned to the voter. Applications cannot be faxed to the Absentee Election Manager. For voter applications and absentee applications visit: AlabamaVotes.gov.  You may call us at (256) 761-2102 ext. 1208, if you need any additional information.

Back to Top

What is the deadline for voting absentee?

   The cut-off date is 5 days before an election. Since elections are typically held on a Tuesday, this would be on the preceding Thursday. Your application must be received in the office on or before this date for me to be able to mail you a ballot, or you can vote in person at the office of the Absentee Election Manager through Thursday.

Back to Top

What if my application is postmarked Thursday?

   Your application must physically be in the Absentee Election Manager's office on the Thursday before the election. That is the cut-off date for mailing a ballot.

Back to Top

Can I vote absentee in person?

   Yes, you can come by the Absentee Election Manager's office Monday through Friday 8:00AM - 5:00PM (except on holidays) and make application and vote while you are in the office. The cut-off date is Thursday (five days before an election). The address is P.O. Box 6137, Talladega, AL 35161.

Back to Top

Do I need an ID to vote absentee?

Yes, you will need to present one of the following forms of ID before you can vote unless you meet a federal exception to the ID requirement:

o        A valid driver's license or nondriver identification card which was properly issued by the appropriate state or county department or agency.

o        A valid Alabama Photo Voter Identification Card.

o        A valid identification card issued by a branch, department, agency, or entity of the State of Alabama, any other state, or the United States authorized by law to issue personal identification, provided that such identification card contains a photograph of the elector.

o        A valid United States Passport.

o        A valid employee identification card containing the photograph of the elector and issued by any branch, department, agency, or entity of the U.S. government, the state of Alabama, or any county, municipality, board, authority, or other entity of this state.

o       A valid student or employee identification card issued by a public or private college, university, or postgraduate technical or professional school located within the state of Alabama, provided that such identification card contains a photograph of the elector.

o       A valid U.S. military identification card, provided that such identification card contains a photograph of the elector

o       A valid tribal identification card containing a photograph of the elector.

o       Valid identification card (authorized by law) issued by the State of Alabama (including any branch, department, agency, or entity of the State of Alabama).

o        Valid identification card (authorized by law) issued by any of the other 49 states (including any branch, department, agency, or entity of that State). 

o        Valid identification card (authorized by law) issued by the government of the United States of America (including any branch, department, agency, or entity of the federal government). 

Back to Top

If I am voting absentee by mail, when do I send in the copy of my ID?

After you make application, you will receive your ballot and supplies. You will need to send a copy of your ID at that time. Please read your instructions carefully as to how it is to be returned. Do not seal up your ID in either one of the white envelopes. Your ID should be placed inside the brown return envelope.

Back to Top

How do I find out where my voting precinct is?

   You can call the Talladega County Board of Registrars at (256) 761-2132 for information on your voting precinct.

Back to Top

Does my absentee ballot have to be witnessed or notarized?

   Yes, by law, your ballot must either be notarized OR witnessed by two people 18 years of age or older. These may be other family members. If your ballot has not been notarized or witnessed by 2 people, it will not be counted.

Back to Top

I have a relative serving in the military, how can they vote absentee?

   They need to contact the military voting assistance officer and request Standard Form 76-A which is a Federal Post Card Absentee Ballot Request. It is postage pre-paid. These applications are good for 2 federal election cycles, so once this application is received, the applicant will automatically be mailed a ballot for upcoming elections they are eligible to vote in. For more information, go to fvap.gov. You can also download an Absentee Ballot Application from this website. The Absentee Election Manager should be notified if there is a change of address of military voter between elections. Since Form 76-A is good for 4 years, this is important in getting their ballot to the correct address. Unless we are otherwise notified, ballots will be mailed to the same address for 4 years. At this time, Alabama law, AG Opinion 04-209, does not allow voting by either fax or e-mail by military personnel, but military and overseas voters can request to receive their ballots electronically.  Once the ballot is received, it should be mailed to the Absentee Election Manager.

Back to Top

I have power-of-attorney for a relative, can I vote for him/her?

No, the law does not allow a person to vote for someone else (AG Opinion 84-359).

Back to Top

I have moved since the last election, how will this affect my ability to vote absentee?

   You need to get in touch with the Board of Registrars at (256) 761-2132 and update your address. If your application address is different from the residence address on file with the Board of Registrars, you will have to vote a Provisional Ballot.

 

Do I have to file a new application for every election?

   The law states that any elections which are 30 days apart must have a new application (except military absentee applications).

Back to Top

What if I find out after the Thursday afternoon deadline that I have to go out of the county for employment reasons?

   The law provides for a voter to vote business emergency if you find out after the Thursday deadline that you have to go out of the county or state for business reasons. You can go to the Absentee Election Manager's Office and vote in person on Thursday and Monday before the Tuesday election (unless either of these two days is a federal/state holiday).

Back to Top

Must I declare a particular party to vote?

   To vote in the Primary Election, you must designate the party which you wish to receive a ballot for. You cannot vote a Republican and a Democrat ballot. In the General Election in November, you can vote for candidates from any of the parties on the ballot.

Back to Top

Who do I contact to vote absentee in city elections?

You need to call your city clerk at the city hall in the municipality you live in.

Back to Top

Who do I call for more information?

Brian York is the Absentee Election Manager.  You may direct your calls to her at (256) 761-2102 ext. 1208.